in , ,

Babar Azam confirmed as Pakistan’s new ODI Captain

Babar Azam confirmed as Pakistan's new ODI Captain
Babar Azam confirmed as Pakistan's new ODI Captain

Babar Azam has been named Pakistan’s white-ball captain after being handed the reins of the ODI side also. The premier top-order batsman succeeds Sarfaraz Ahmed because the team’s ODI leader after the latter was faraway from the post following the 2019 World Cup.

Babar’s rapid rise in world cricket has seen him stamp his authority across formats as he remains the sole

batsman to be ranked within the top-five altogether three sorts of the sport at the instant.

Babar Azam was earlier appointed Pakistan’s T20I skipper before the Australia tour last year, where his team

fared poorly and was humiliated 0-2 within the three-match series. Later, he earned his first series victory responsible for the side after defeating Bangladesh 2-0 reception in January.

“The Pakistan Cricket Board confirms Azhar Ali as Test and Babar Azam as ODI and T20I captains for the period during which Pakistan is scheduled to play nine Tests, six ODIs and 20 T20Is, besides the Asia Cup and the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2020,” the PCB stated in a media release.

Pakistan’s ODI assignments during this era include three 50-over clashes in South Africa in September and

another three-match ODI series against Zimbabwe in November.

Pakistan’s head coach-cum-chief selector Misbah-ul-Haq asserted that the PCB made the proper decision in extending the leadership tenures of Test skipper Azhar Ali and his white-ball counterpart Babar.

“I want to congratulate Azhar Ali and Babar Azam for getting captaincy extensions,” he said.

“This is absolutely the right decision as they also require certainty and clarity on their future roles. I am sure they will now start looking to the

future and start planning so that they can build sides that can perform at the expected levels.”

What do you think?

Written by Wct20


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

eleven − ten =


ICC Mens T20 World Cup 2020 Venues

ICC Mens T20 World Cup Venues List 2020

ICC T20 World Cup 2020

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2020: Teams, Schedule & Venues